Donate dao.eth to ethereum commons

Hello everyone. It has come to my attention that the Aragon multi-sig launched in 2017 holds the dao.eth domain. I am curious what intention the Aragon community has for this important and broad namespace. Would you consider donating it back to ethereum so that other DAO users might build on top? A long-term contributor to ENS DAO, validator.eth has volunteered to manage this in trust for the ecosystem. If Aragon would request funds, what would be reasonable? Overall, I see it as a net positive for Aragon to be seen as the protector of this domain from otherwise extractive or exclusive efforts and noticed it has been dormant.

3 Likes

I am not sure why Aragon needs to donate the ENS. If there is any DAO that has a usecase for the ENS name, they could reach out and secure a partnership with Aragon.

Plainly donating the domain just because it sounds nice has no actual value in my opinion. I am new to the DAO space, so I might just be uneducated on the actual value of doing this.

5 Likes

I agree with Tony.

I concur with Anthony.

1 Like

Aragon creates products for DAOs. Hence, it is fairly logical that we might have secured the domain at the time.

As @tony-stark-dex stated, it doesn’t seem to make a lot of sense to donate the same. Also, donation requires a cause. What’s the exact cause we are donating this for?

1 Like

I don’t know the community’s intended use but I would like to see it in production, either with Aragon or more broadly. One potential area for exploration could be with the DAOstar group working on open standards for DAOs.

1 Like