All Aragon Devs Updates and Planning #45

Hi, I invite any team who would like to share their updates or submit discussion topics for the next Aragon Devs call to post them in this thread. The call will be held on March 30th .

Thanks :slight_smile:


All Aragon Devs #45 (Notes)

Call #45: March 30th, 2020 8am PST / 11am EST / 3pm UTC / 5pm CEST

Team Updates

  • Aragon One updates from last call and current priorities

Agenda

  • Appoint note takers
  • Introduce team members who haven’t already met each other (~0-5min)
  • Discussions:
    • aragonOS v5 upgrade
  • Demos:
    • convert.aragon.org (Enrique)
    • use-wallet with Next.js (Pierre)
    • buidler-aragon v0.2.0 improvements (Gabriel)
    • Court backend metrics + monitoring (Martynas)

Notes

Introductions

Martynas: Systems and devops Engineer at Aragon One

Discussions

aragonOS v5 upgrade

AragonOS v5 is going to be a mantainance release.
This version is not going to support for Solidity v0.5-0.6

The plan is doing a general cleanup on the repo and the npm package published. Main changes:

  • Dont expose the scripts and deployments scripts
  • Not having AragonPM in general

The goal is to improve installing times and interaction with the aragonOS framework.

Demos

Court backend metrics + monitoring (Martynas)

  • Run on Docker compose and Kubernetes
  • Simple command docker-compose up
  • Compatible with Github actions (release on git push)
  • Includes metrics dashboard with Grafana and logs ingestion with Loki

convert.aragon.org (Enrique)

Website to do conversions between ANJ and ANT.

It takes two transactions but you get better rates than Uniswap and anj.aragon.org.

use-wallet with Next.js (Pierre)

  • Compatible with Next.js
  • Next.js is a popular JS framework with SSR (speeds up initial site loads)
  • Supports CommonJS and ES6 modules

buidler-aragon v0.2.0 improvements (Gabriel)

  • New app installer function in hooks
    • Let the developer bootstrap multiple apps and create permissions in preInit, postDao, postInit
    • All in Javascript, much simpler than Aragon templates
  • New publish task
    • Supports dry runs

Attendance

1Hive: Fabrizio Vigevani, Rodrigo Perez

Aragon One: Brett Sun, Enrique Ortiz, Gabriel Garcia, Pierre Bertet, Martynas Prokopas

Aragon Mesh: Mathew Cormier

License

This template is modified from the Ethereum All Core Devs call notes template and inherits the same CC-BY-SA 3.0 License.

Aragon One

The past two weeks we have been primarily focused on:

  • Restarting the precedence campaign
  • convert.aragon.org
  • Court backend infrastructure improvements

Topics

Updates

Client

  • Spring cleaning efforts

Next:

  • Organization Agreements scope and design iteration

Network

Future:

  • Phase 3 governance

SDK

Future:

  • buidler-aragon v0.2.0
  • Subgraph for Aragon organizations
  • Focus on toolkit